the bonzo dog doo dah band
 
it was like being on an acid trip - probably!
is what Ben g had to say!

it’s a

dog’s

life!

what the brighton argus said WAY BACK IN oct 08 . . . nothing’s changed!!


       nuggets of
genius
woof! woof!
overheard in the gents!
this is what the bonzos should be like!
Sam’s electric spoons solo was the funniest thing i’ve seen in years
February 16th, 2011 by simon - warwick arts centre - coventry
Posted in Reviews 
Tags: coventry, monty python, music, the bonzos, the goons, three bonzos and a piano, warwick arts centre

Three Bonzos and a Piano: Anarchic music and mirth
For fun and heart-warming acts, few can top Three Bonzos and a Piano. Marshalled superbly by Roger Ruskin Spear (whose son Justin is now a broadcaster, journalist and Stuart Maconie’s sidekick on his BBC 6Music show The Freak Zone), Rodney Slater and Sam Spoons completed the triumvirate of remaining Bonzos members.
If it’s never quite going to be the same without Neil Innes and the late Viv Stanshall, two hours in the company of Three Bonzos and a Piano acted as a superb tribute to the anarchic spirit and humour so fondly remembered by the audience. Fitting timing, too, given that EMI released a triple-disc compilation of remastered songs and rarities earlier this month.
In a wonderful celebration of their music and comedy – they’re widely recognised as the missing link between The Goons and Monty Python – the threesome, ably joined by Dave Glasson and Andy Roberts, recreated some of their finest moments with an impressive arsenal of props and no little supply of energy. Roger Ruskin Spear in particular was frenzied and energetic, bounding around the stage and swapping instruments.
After some hearty audience interaction for ‘Shirt’, the band delved into their storied back catalogue and performed classics such as ‘Jollity Farm’, ‘My Pink Half of the Drainpipe, ‘Hunting Tigers Out In India’ and ‘Canyons Of Your Mind’, plus a version of Tom Lehrer’s song about the periodic table which then morphed into ‘…Urban Spaceman’ to cover the elements which have been discovered since.
In the second half they upped the anarchy further still with robots, ‘Monster Mash’ and the glorious ‘Trouser Press’, making for a brilliant evening of music and mirth – their psychedelic take on music hall and jazz evident throughout. How they managed to pack so much entertainment into this show remains a beguiling mystery, but Three Bonzos and a Piano are a fine addition to a legacy which stretches back to their 1960s beginnings. A joyful triumph.http://www.whoslaughingnow.org/category/reviews/http://www.whoslaughingnow.org/tag/coventry/http://www.whoslaughingnow.org/tag/monty-python/http://www.whoslaughingnow.org/tag/music/http://www.whoslaughingnow.org/tag/the-bonzos/http://www.whoslaughingnow.org/tag/the-goons/http://www.whoslaughingnow.org/tag/three-bonzos-and-a-piano/http://www.whoslaughingnow.org/tag/warwick-arts-centre/http://www.whoslaughingnow.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/threebonzosandapiano1.jpghttp://www.threebonzosandapiano.co.uk/http://www.threebonzosandapiano.co.uk/http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bonzo_Dog_Doo-Dah_Bandhttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Inneshttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Inneshttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vivian_Stanshallhttp://www.amazon.co.uk/Dogs-Life-Albums-1967-1972/dp/B004FUZLX2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1297955007&sr=8-1http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dogs-Life-Albums-1967-1972/dp/B004FUZLX2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1297955007&sr=8-1http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Goon_Showhttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monty_Python%27s_Flying_Circushttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SmwlzwGMMwchttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SmwlzwGMMwcshapeimage_17_link_0shapeimage_17_link_1shapeimage_17_link_2shapeimage_17_link_3shapeimage_17_link_4shapeimage_17_link_5shapeimage_17_link_6shapeimage_17_link_7shapeimage_17_link_8shapeimage_17_link_9shapeimage_17_link_10shapeimage_17_link_11shapeimage_17_link_12shapeimage_17_link_13shapeimage_17_link_14shapeimage_17_link_15shapeimage_17_link_16shapeimage_17_link_17shapeimage_17_link_18shapeimage_17_link_19shapeimage_17_link_20
Frome Strikes Comedy Gold
10 july 2011 well, words fail me, almost.  How can I convey the exuberance, anarchy and sheer fun that the Bonzos created in Frome on Sunday night?
I didn’t quite know what to expect.
I was familiar with The Doo Dah Band’s choice back catalogue (‘Looking very relaxed, Adolf Hitler on vibes.  Nice’) and remembered their appearances on ‘Do Not Adjust Your Set’ through a haze of youthful nostalgia, but nothing can prepare you for the full impact of the live show.

The whole performance is based on the premise ‘if you don’t rehearse, how can it go wrong?’
It’s an attitude I think we should apply to Life.
The show teeters on the edge of being completely shambolic, but there’s method in the mayhem.  The make-it-up-as-it-goes feel is a carefully constructed front for truly excellent musicianship and strong material.
I can’t think of any other performers who combine music and comedy so well.  Their performance isn’t funny, they are funny.
They are part of an immaculate comedy pedigree that stretches back to the surreal nonsense of Dada, the vulgarity of vaudeville and music hall and the ludicrous world of The Goons; their inheritance can be found in The Young Ones, Bill Bailey and Vic & Bob.
Though there were some Bonzos fans in the audience who knew each song (and shirt – listen to the recording) inside out, anyone could enjoy this show for the unrestrained pleasure the musicians have in performing which they share lovingly and generously with the audience. 
Martin Pople

	

http://newkingarts.wordpress.com/2011/07/14/three-bonzos-a-piano-2/http://newkingarts.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/state-registered-bald.jpghttp://newkingarts.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/state-registered-bald.jpghttp://newkingarts.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/sam-spoons-and-rodney-slater.jpgshapeimage_19_link_0shapeimage_19_link_1shapeimage_19_link_2shapeimage_19_link_3
putney - half moon - 5 feb 2012
It was absolutely stunningly brilliant and totally inspiring. The performance was so well planned and so stuffed with ideas. I run kids' music workshops in Putney and do a lot of dressing up (ironically I had my pith-helmeted jungle outfit on the previous week with all the kids wearing tiger ears!) and some prop stuff but nothing compared to this terrific display. The thought, fun and energy put into this show was extraordinary. The icing on the cake was being introduced to Rodney at half time by a mutual friend. Stay in touch - next time you play I will try to raise a posse.. Lotsa love. David fisher x

links to news, previews, reviews, interviews:

brighton  komedia 23 may - russ braVO:                   http://www.artistsandmakers.com/article.php/20100524185008575

record collector: chris welch reviews the bloomsbury show - http://www.recordcollectormag.com/reviews/review-detail/5479


dave on kows radio - interviewed by arnold levine:

http://tommysholidaycamp.com/mp3/daveGlasson.mp3


review of keswick show - 9.2.12
http://tootlepedal.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/ice-age-2/   After an early tea,  we set off, rather fearfully, to drive to Keswick, some 60 miles away, hoping that the roads would be reasonable. They were.  I was taking Mrs Tootlepedal and two friends to see three of the original members of the Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band at the theatre there in a show called Three Bonzos and a Piano.  They were assisted by a couple of other excellent musicians and provided an evening of inspired lunacy as they say.                                                                              They started playing in the band in 1966 and considering that they are no spring chickens, they were in extremely jolly form and included both the celebrated solo for electronic trouser press and the Monster Mash among the evening’s items.  There was a variety of new and old songs, along with exploding robots and fine spoon playing.  We all laughed heartily at the gags, enjoyed the warm hearted music and marvelled at the energy of Roger Ruskin Spear, the group’s leader.  We, and all the rest of the audience, left the show with a smile firmly fixed to our faces.http://tootlepedal.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/ice-age-2/shapeimage_21_link_0
Great time in Leeds last night (31/3/12). These guys, unlike your prize bottle of Burgundy, have immatured over the last 50 years and even as 70 somethings [CHEEK!] produced an hilarious and energetic 2 hours + brilliant gig. Under-pinned by 2 superb musicians, Dave Glasson on keyboards and Andy Roberts guitar, banjo and uke (was also a mean fast bowler when he was younger). Messrs Slater, Ruskin Spear and Spoons supplied the rest. Roger Ruskin Spear, puppet/robot master, took on most of the lead but did it in his own way not attempting to mimic Viv, but for me, for the virtuoso performance on spoons and other antics, Sam Spoons stole the show. For those of you unfamiliar with the Bonzo's, it's a bit like 'the Goons go to Vaudeville', then again not. Great night and will definitely go see them again if I get the chance, makes me even more determined to get to see the 'Sir Henry at Rawlingson End' stage show. (facebook)
WHIMPLE WHIMSY                 8 JULY ’12
Wonderful gig last night. Have not laughed so much in a long time. At one stage during the last number - "Music For The Head Ballet" - Sue, on our table, was having difficulty breathing as she was laughing and crying so much...
I did get a chance to talk with Andy at the end and he told me about David Hall in South Petherton on 25 Nov ’12. We have been there many times as it’s a great venue with a great sound. Must check their web site.
I did mention to Andy that I was surprised to see him with the Bonzos (after Plainsong and Ian Matthews) and he said "it was an antidote to music". Like it!

We just need more of this kind of thing in our lives... laughter  and music!                        
David Cawthorne - Devon (with my regards to Andy and his Bonzo Friends...)
 

BESTIVAL - ISLE OF WIGHT - 7 SEPT 2012

While Florence plays her heart out to tens of thousands, there are plenty of alternatives available to the discerning Bestival-goer.

Tucked away in a far corner of the furthest field tonight is the perfect antidote to over-produced power-pop. Three Bonzos and a Piano could not be further removed from the polished world of Florence Welch.

The stage is littered with jokey, makeshift props. The crowd are sat cross-legged on the floor. The lyrics are often forgotten and are regularly mangled. But there is a friendly warmth about the whole show. A bonhomie born out of the Bonzo’s legendary musical lineage.

Their original decade is now forty years behind them – and even back then they were a gimmicky bag of quirky oddness.

However they played alongside many of the greats, and their jokey songbook has a boisterous and irreverent music hall quality about it that has somehow stood the test of the passing years.

‘Jollity Farm’s’ cows still go ‘moo’ (and the bull does too...), and ‘Out in India’ and ‘The Tale of Ali Baba’ both bounce along with the joyous abandon of a bunch of old geezers having a laugh.

They are not allowed to play with pyrotechnics anymore, so the crowd have to shout ‘bang’ on cue.

Their special effects are limited to ‘toast charming’ (you had to be there...).

The crowd ‘autocue’ is held upside down and back to front, but frankly nobody cares.

This is a lingering remaining fragment of the Bonzo Dog Do-Dah Band, and it has been a privilege to be here.

‘BANG!!

BONZO BONANZA DVD REVIEW       IN SHINDIG ISSUE 35 ...                    BY RICHARD ALLEN

GREAT REVIEW IN APRIL 2014 SHINDIG MAG ONLINE:

http://shindig-magazine.com/blog/index.php/tag/3-bonzos-a-piano/